Journal of a Mu’takifah pt.1

21 Ramadhaan 1437 @ 08:05 a.m.

Mood: Happy/ excited (!!!)
Para: 23- Khatam 1
Nafl namaaz read: ALL
Daily sunnat: sleep with a pillow
Fave part of today: Morning zikr
Today I make shukr for: The ability to move
Today I make taubah for: Not lowering my gaze
Itikaaf day: one

Bismillahirrahmanir Raheem. All praise is due to Allah(SWT), the Lord of the worlds, He alone do we worship and He alone do we ask for help.

My first day in Itikaaf is completed. I am both exhilarated at the days that lie ahead as well as terrified that I might not be able to make as much of it as I hope to. All I can make Dua for now is that Allah(SWT) guides me and lets this be an enlightening and spiritually uplifting experience for me. If it counts for anything, I’m practically radioactive with positive energy, my excitement at being granted this opportunity is bouncing off the walls (perhaps that’s why everyone’s smiling! Either that or everyone’s just happy right now because we had a good Iftaar, Alhamdulillah.)

I checked in at the Madressah yesterday at 5 o’clock. This was after deliberating up until the last 1/2 hour whether to stay at home or sit in the Madressah. I’m glad I chose the Madressah. The atmosphere here is far better than I could’ve ever had at home. I settled in well with two other girls. Apa Humairah(from Malaysia) and Apa Sabeeha(who everyone calls China because she’s the only Chinese inmate in the whole Madressah). An ex-student, Aalima Nur is also sitting with us for nafl I’tikaaf. She came all the way from her home in Malaysia with her Brother to meet the Aalima’s in the Madressah. This I find truly amazing, that the teachers in the Madressah have such an impact on the girls that they’ll even come back from different continents to meet with them.
We broke our fast with kajoor and water, thereafter read the first Maghrib, then ate the first Iftaar. There were samoosas, milkshake and chicken tikka (which I couldn’t finish so I made a sandwich out of for sehri). Alhamdulillah they feed us quite well (I won’t lie, coming from a home where every  night there’s at least 3 different savories for Iftaar, I was a little worried.)
We read Taraweeh, Quraan Shareef and we went to sleep early. We woke up at 4 for Tahajjud and Salaatut Tasbih (this is a morning habit.) For Sehri I had coffee, jungle oats, cake and my sandwich (which I still couldn’t finish. I swear when barakah descends, even a sandwich is plentiful, Alhamdulillah).
We made morning zikr, read Taalim and Fajr namaaz. Alhamdulillah everything is going well, so far so good.

“Ilm cannot be attained without Aadaab”

I hope you enjoyed, take lesson and never forget to remember Allah(SWT) in everything you do.

Check out my website here

Leave a Reply

