What if I knew? (a poem)

What if I knew?
What if I knew that today was my last?

What if I knew?
What would I say, where would I go, who would I be?

What would I do, if I knew, today was my last?
Would I stay the girl I’ve become or would I change completely?
Would I treat the people I know, the way I treat them now?
Would I laugh in the face of death and dare it to come quickly?

Or…

Would I regret…

… the choices I’ve made,

… the friends I’ve kept,

… the lies I’ve told,

… the truths I’ve withheld,

… the pain I’ve caused,

… the time I’ve wasted?

What if I knew?
What if I knew today was my last?

My last chance, My last hope, My last day, My last moment,
My last chance before it’s all snatched away?

Would I stand tall knowing I’ve done all that I should have?

Or…

Would I fall knowing I didn’t do all that I could have?

Would I smile or would I cry?
Am I ready to die?
Would all those things I called “important” things seem so necessary anymore?
Would all those things I called “fun” things seem so awesome anymore?

What if I knew?
What if I knew, that today was my last?
Where would I be? Who would I see? Would I be perfectly glad with “ME”?

What about all those things:

I’d yet to experience?

OR

All my dreams still to make real?

OR

All those people I still need to meet?

OR

All those little things…

What if I knew?
What if I knew that today was my last?

Would I be ready?

I hope you enjoyed, take lesson and never forget to remember Allah(SWT) in everything you do.

Check out my website here

Leave a Reply

