Him (a poem)

Yesterday someone asked me: How can I believe in a being that I have never seen?
I calmly replied: I see Him every day.

I see Him in the acceptance of things beyond our control
I see Him in the colours and magnificence of the sunrise
I see Him in the cold and fresh and beautiful rain
I see Him in the growth of a baby, from a tiny dot to a little human
I see Him the wondrous change of the seasons

Today someone asks me: How can you believe in a being you’ve never met?
I calmly reply: I meet Him every day.

I meet Him in simple acts of human goodness
I meet Him in a mother’s love for her children
I meet Him in the perfect beauty of our imperfection
I meet Him on my prayer mat, when He welcomes me to His door
I meet Him when I’m afraid and I suddenly don’t feel so alone anymore

Tomorrow someone will ask me: How can I believe in a being who’s given me nothing?
I’ll look them straight in the eye and calmly reply:

Who’s given me life and who can take it away?
Who’s gifted my eyes with the power to open every day?
Who’s blessed me with treasures you can’t simply buy in a store?
Who’ll always heed my call when I can’t help but ask for more?
Who’s made me to perfection with hardly any flaws?
Who still chooses to forgive and love me even though I break and break His laws?

The next time someone asks me: How can I believe?
I’ll look right back at them and calmly reply: How can you not?

I hope you enjoyed, take lesson and never forget to remember Allah(SWT) in everything you do.

Check out my website here

Leave a Reply

